School Assessment

Early Years Foundation Stage

During the year, children in Reception will be assessed by class teachers across 17 areas of learning.  Children are required to have a Good Level of Development (or GLD) if they have achieved the Early Learning Goals (ELGs) set out within the EYFS curriculum.

Good Level of Development Children are defined as having reached a good level of development at the end of the EYFS if they have achieved at least the expected level in:

  • The early learning goals in the prime areas of learning (personal, social and emotional development; physical development; and communication and language
  • The early learning goals in the specific areas of mathematics and literacy.


Key Stage 1

By the end of Key Stage 1, during the summer term, children in Year 2 will be assessed by class teachers in the following areas:

  • English reading, writing, and speaking and listening;
  • Mathematics; and
  • Science

These teacher assessments are then given to parents /carers, together with their child's end of year report.

All children in Year 1 must take the phonics screening check, which is designed to confirm whether children have learnt phonic decoding to an appropriate standard. It will identify the children who need extra help to improve their decoding skills. Children in Year 2 must retake the check if they did not meet the required standard in Year 1. However, it is possible to withdraw children from the check if the Headteacher feels it is appropriate to do so.